What Time is it You’re Waiting For?

Sadly, this is the only version of this song I could find. If you do enjoy Matthew Good, I suggest you check out his Vancouver album which contains the studio recording of this tune – “The Boy Who Could Explode.”

In other news, Hello to the four people who read my blog! It’s been a really long time since I’ve posted anything and I really have no good excuse as to why I stopped posting. I guess I got busy and I stopped caring about sharing things I found interesting with people on the internet? So, with this return – and to mark the 4th year of keeping this blog (holy shit it’s actually been four years) – I’ve changed up the layout! So if your new to the blog, welcome, this is what it’s always looked like – if you’ve been around for a while – HOLY COW CHANGE.

Last time we checked, I was still at the Banff Centre of the Arts doing work I loved, in a relationship with someone I loved, in a place with people I was starting to love. Pretty much all was hunky-dory and I was happy. I was still struggling with my identity, making steps towards personal growth, and what have you but in general I was happy. Banff was a great place for me and I am so glad I had the opportunity to go there and meet the people I did and do the things I did, but it’s the post-Banff hangover that’s leaving life seeming less spectacular than it was.

Now, I’m not sure where I am with myself. I know I said I was gonna “write more blogs, drink less, go to the gym more, etc”, and maybe it’s because I’ve done none of that that I feel weird about where I am.

I spent the month of May in Europe, finally going on the adventures I had dreamt about for years. It was nice to finally take a break from life. After going for 13 years of primary school, and then straight into 4 years of university, and then another year of what I call an internship, it was nice to have a break and not worry about anything. Europe was everything I think I could have wanted from it. I got to see so many things that I’ve been waiting pretty much my entire life to see, it was nice to cross those things off my lists (see #12 on my bucket list). I’ll probably post some photos sooner or later – if I ever get around to it.

Since Europe, I’ve moved back home, which has been interesting – to put it nicely. I’ve begun working in event production, which is essentially putting up stages and sound systems for concerts, and trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life. I’m planning a trip to Victoria & Vancouver shortly, and hopefully Toronto and Montreal after that in November. Hoping that will lead to a more permanent job in the music industry. I’ve started to reconsider working in a studio, for more event and live sound based work. In September I’ll be back at the Rifflandia music festival assisting on stage and the like. I feel like I’d like to get more into the management side of things and work more on event planning and arrangement than the actual set up of stages and such. Regardless, it gives me a lot of good experience and cool stories about being backstage at certain shows.

Coming back to Calgary has always been somewhat a touchy subject for me. As I’ve said before, I feel like I don’t fit in here and I feel like every time I come back, the friends I left are less like they used to be. And maybe it’s me who’s changed more than they, but it might be time to let go of some of those old relationships that have gone by the wayside. I recently went to a wedding of one of my close friends and saw some people for the first time in years, which was pretty weird. I tend to be pretty distant with my friends until I feel comfortable knowing that they’re with me for the long haul, and once I’ve hit that comfortable level, I’m loyal forever. It takes a lot for me to want to cut ties with a relationship, but as I’ve learned previously, when it no longer becomes symbiotic, and the give and take is no longer there, that you’re better off without the person in your life.

So! This has been a nice uplifting return to my blog writing. My blog has kind of always been a place for me to come and rant irrationally to tens of readers who will likely talk to me about this the next time I see them. I’m not sure what else to talk about – which is weird since 6 months has gone by since the time I wrote anything. Hmm… well! What time is it that you’re waiting for?

One comment

  1. Calandra

    As one of your fo eva loyal readers, I’m always happy to see an update! I tried to read this when you tweeted, but wordpress was being grumpy. It’s exciting that you’re planning some trips, no matter where you end up in your job and life, whoever is around you will be lucky to have you cross paths with them. People do change sometimes, but sometimes things keep working. I also commend you for using the word ‘symbiotic’ in everyday life! 😀

Leave a Reply

