Looking Back

2012 was full of many splendid things. I will try and cover them as briefly and coherently as possible. Looking back at 2011, I wrote:

It’s that time of year where I write you about my semester and how everything went and apologize for not writing more because things got in the way and blah blah blah.

I plan on doing very little/none of that. Nothing really that interesting is happening. I go home for Christmas on Sunday, stay for a while and come back and start school again. Yay.

I feel like I can summarize my entire semester into one sentence: “Oh you know.”

The terrible thing is that the only thing that has really changed is location. This semester has been a little different and quite a bit more exciting as I’ve been at the Banff Centre doing a Work Study in Audio Engineering and is actually pretty exciting work to be doing. When we’re not doing pretty mindless work. It’s been an amazing experience so far, but we haven’t had much time to do any traditional learning. It’s been a lot of learning by doing, which can be good, but sometimes it’s very tiring and you don’t pick up nearly as much as you could have. I still reply with “Oh you know” and few people have yet to call me on it.

In 2010, I complained about Christmas music:

Tis’ the Season! To be jolly!

But unforunately for everyone else, I am not. I’m not a huge fan of Christmas, it’s sorta become a meh holiday. But what really pisses me off is Christmas Music.

And while I still don’t like Christmas Music. I’ll be writing again my top picks of 2012, much like my top picks of 2011 that I did in January of this year. This year I’ve worked with a lot of great musicians, at Banff and beyond and it’ll all be coming around for me to share with you. Eventually.

December 2009? Geez I’ve had this blog for a long time. As a matter of fact, this will be my 500th post. I think that’s why I’ve been saving it for a while. Don’t wanna waste a milestone like this on a Calvin and Hobbes background. Looks like 2009 is when I started using Twitter more. Who woulda thought almost 7000 tweets and 300 followers later I’d still be at it.

2009 was an interesting year. I was dating and happy and living with people I liked and not doing so well and school, but still enjoying life pretty well. Granted I felt like I didn’t wanna go back to Calgary and Victoria had become home. I’m not sure how I feel about that now, but I will address that later.

So here I am. I started this blog just over 3 years ago. And 500 posts later I’ve become someone completely different. I wrote once about how you change once every four years and how much I had changed from who I was in the 9th grade, and the 12th grade. And I wonder already how much I’ve changed since I wrote that post a year ago. 2012 was a big growth year for me. I ended my 3 year long term relationship. I finished my degree. I got into a program I had dreamed of forever and moved to Banff. I don’t think I’ve had that many life events in such a short time.

What else has happened….

I got a tattoo.
I moved. Again. I lived on my own for the first time. I loved it.
I stopped writing in my blog as much. Maybe I was dealing with the break up, and figuring myself out. Maybe I was too busy. But that’s what happened.
I met someone new.
We did a road trip. And then long distance. Ups and downs.

In short, 2012 was a stressful year, a productive year, and a year of growth.
I don’t know what else there is to remind you of. If you’re reading this, you probably know what all has gone on in my life anyways. 2012 is yet to be over. And I think I’ve got lots more to say. So stay tuned for some more posts shortly. I hope.

Young vs OldYoung vs. Old

As always, I feel I have to leave you with a piece of music to listen to while you read my dreary bullshit. Today’s choice is:

Remember Me as a Time of Day – Explosions in the Sky

2 comments

  1. Calandra

    No matter how much you change as the years go by, you retain the same raised eyebrow look, and some fundamental qualities that make you one of the best friends in the world!

  2. Pingback: What Time is it You’re Waiting For? | silence as sound

Leave a Reply

