They Didn’t Think So

Le sigh.

I guess it’s that time again that I write something here. Because apparently I have a few more people now who actually read this blog. And believe it’s a “music” blog. It’s mostly just a collection of me and what I find interesting, which just so happens to be mostly music.

To quickly catch up. I quit my job at the Gap, today was my last day. After school started up I was not enjoying that job in the least. It became the part of my week that I least looked forward to and that I couldn’t stand while I was there. Most of the people I enjoyed working with there either quit or dropped their availability such that we never worked together. To me, that job was always bearable at best, but it was when you worked with good people that made it enjoyable. And the exact opposite happened when you worked with bad people. I think that I only liked a handful of those who worked there. And I despised most of the rest. For example today – one of the people I dislike, spent a good 45 minutes, wiping down a stand of clothes with a paper towel. Why? I have no idea. It seemed like such an illogical waste of time when he could be doing something that was actually worthwhile. This is the same guy who has been working there for at least 2 years, and still will not put away processed women’s clothes because he doesn’t know where they go.

I will stop before I start ranting about all my ex-coworkers. And will just conclude by quoting Bilbo Baggins:

“I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

Continuing on – I am the proud owner of Victoria Royals seasons tickets! Which has been really quite awesome. I’ve only been to two games so far. But still very very awesome. Excited for the rest of the year.

Moving on, the first month of school has blown by and I’m still trying to find the time to catch up with my homework. Spending a lot of time at the Gap didn’t help as it usually wrote off Saturday’s as a day to get anything done. I have taken on a greater role as a recording tech at the School, and now I manage the other 3 techs who I work with. It’s seems like a lot more work than it actually is – as you spend generally 15 minutes out of every hour doing something work related. So it feels like it never stops. This also means I’ve spent less time doing recordings that I enjoy – which kind of sucks, but I guess it’s okay. I’ve been making more connections and contacts – especially via Twitter – and building up quite a good reputation with the professors.

As of this weekend, I am fighting off a cold. Doing my best to stay healthy as the year goes on. I find I’m eating a lot at school and never have the energy to make a meal when I get home. I’m trying though! Shots of cold medicine have been my friend this week.

Also – Girlfriend has left me for Arizona. She went there to talk at the RMMLA conference on something or other. So I am home alone for the week with no one to love me. 😦 I miss being with her and coming home to her here. And it means I won’t have anyone to share Thanksgiving with. I’m all alone.

And the day she left, I was on the radio! Wowie. The station here does an hour long segment called My Turn. People get to come in and play whatever music it is that they want and talk about whatever. It went really well and I made a few contacts in the business. I think I could see myself hosting a radio show. I’m not sure if it’s the end all be all of what I want to do, but I could see myself enjoying that for a few years. Below is all the bantering bits from my hour on air.

I guess that’s all that needs to be said in this catching up bit. Maybe I’ll leave it at that and write another post tomorrow…

One comment

  1. Calandra

    Awww I wish you were here for thanksgiving! But really, what’s better than doing whatever the hell you want on thanksgiving? You guys can celebrate with naked thanksgiving when she gets back!
    I could see you hosting a radio station too for sure, you have a good personality for it 🙂
    Hang in there, school is hard but worth it!

Leave a Reply

