Benjamin Zander on music and passion

I think this is how music should be taught in junior high and high schools. The minimal theory we get is so irrelevant to anything else, and if a guy like this came to talk to a high school music class, it would easily change the performance, the technique, and the overall intelligence of the musicians. I know I definitely don’t listen to music in the way he describes, I often find it hard to connect with some pieces, especially as they grow larger in number of performers and into the 20th century.

Benjamin Zander does a fantastic job of speaking and getting his points across in a comical and understandable manner.

I loved this video. Props to my brother for showing me.

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: (Op.9) Nocturne No.2 in Eb Major « Silence As Sound

Leave a Reply

