eBay Etiquette

Image representing eBay as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

I’ve bought a few things on eBay and from Craigslist previously, and from that I’ve noticed a few things.

Especially when you’re in direct contact with the other person, you really start to see how their demeanor affects your perception of them.

For example, I’ve spent the last week tracking down an Mbox, and I have contacted a few different guys and ended up getting one shipped in from Vancouver. (It’s here today – just gotta go home and play with it! Woo) And I actually ended up paying $50 – $100 more for the box just because this guy was nicer and more competent than the other guys I was dealing with. One guy hadn’t learned the function of the shift key and liked to type in all lower case. There was absolutely nothing wrong with his typing or spelling or anything else, it was just the capitals that bugged me and showed laziness. So I didn’t end up buying from him.

Another guy I was talking seemed legit and everything, but then disappeared for about 6 days. Well that’s just great! When someone wants to buy something from you – you just leave them there wondering what the hell is going on? NO! I would have ended up buying from him, but the lack of response was dis-concerning. So needless to say, he won’t be getting my money

The biggest thing with internet buying is confidence, if you don’t trust or feel confident with who you’re dealing with, you’re not going to buy anything. Which is why I went with the guy I did. He deserved my money.

Leave a Reply

