I Blame My Dad for My Coffee Addiction

Cup of hot chocolate with whipped cream

My Eighth Grade Drink of Choice

I didn’t start drinking coffee until I was in the 8th grade. Anytime before then, my mom would treat it the same way she let me try alcohol. A sip here or there of the most wretched stuff, trying to deter me from drinking it. Apparently I had terrible times sleeping as a kid whenever I had hot chocolate or anything of the sort.

When I hit junior high I now had the freedom to wander wherever I wanted at lunch and eat and drink whatever I wanted. This accounted for me going to KFC every Tuesday in the ninth grade, but that’s another story for another time.

I first started out with the really sugary drinks – a caramel macchiato or vanilla fudge brownie latte, something with lots of flavour and whipped cream on top. When you’re 14 your only goal is the awesome whipped cream and not really giving two thoughts about the coffee.

But when I started going to high school, things changed a little bit.

Firstly, my dad gave me a ride to work everyday. This was a symbiotic relationship for the both of us. He got me to school on time, and since I was up early, it meant that he went to work on time too. I really enjoyed the morning drive with my dad, it was a consistent time of the day that we had together. We got to talk about sports or news or family stuffs and the drive wasn’t too long that we could ever get into anything to deep.

Now, the best part of driving to school with my dad, was stopping at Tim Horton’s in the morning. There was a drive thru about 2 minutes from my school on the main road, so it was the perfect pit-stop before school/work. Every Canadian knows Timmy Ho’s is the place to go for coffee, and being recently introduced to the drink, I was weary as what to order. I knew I wouldn’t want black, but I didn’t need to have coffee with my sugar.

Tim Hortons logo as used in the mid-1990s, and...

Timmy Ho's

From seeing enough Tim’s ads on TV, I knew the classic All-Canadian coffee was the double double. I went with that and haven’t gone back.

One of the first things I ever bought when I moved into my first home away from home was a coffee maker, and a big container of Folgers coffee. This was a mistake. I still have about half the grounds left in that container. My roommates bought me Tim Horton’s coffee for my birthday, and I’ve never wanted to drink anything else.

I still stop at Tim Horton’s on the way to work in the early mornings and if I’m at home, I’ve always got my coffee maker ready to go.

Most people think that coffee addictions are on par with any other addiction. Frankly, I like my addiction. It brought me closer to my dad and will always be something we have.

So here’s to you Dad.

A photo of a cup of coffee.

Image via Wikipedia

4 comments

    • JCS

      Yes, I think if my Dad were ever to find my blog, he’d enjoy that entry.

      Thank you and all the best!

  1. calandra

    Aww 🙂 what a lovely story. Mmmm I miss vanilla fudge brownie lattes though. Damn menu simplifying. Coffee = love

    • JCS

      I know. I’m such an awesome son. I miss vanillafudgebrownielatteorgasms though. Like the time we went to Second Cup on spare and came back and saw Ratty and she flipped shit
      ….mmmm vanillafudgebrownielatteorgasms….

Leave a Reply

