Soundtrack To My Life

So I was talking with my friend Paul last night about music and songs that changed your life in a significant way. These are mine, in chronological order.

  1. Pinch Me – Barenaked Ladies: I recieved my first CD player and the Barenaked Ladies Greatest Hits CD for my birthday in 5th grade. This was one of the first songs I remember knowing all the words to. “What’s under there?/ I just made you say ‘underwear'”. Oh good times.
  2. Fat Lip – Sum 41: I have to give my brother credit for this one. He was the first person who introduced me to ‘punk’ rock and brought me to where I am today.
  3. There Is – Boxcar Racer: I had this song on repeat my entire last month of 6th grade. I later learned how to play it on drums.
  4. Like The Angel – Rise Against: With this I got into heavier rock and started getting into screamo. Rise Against holds another one of my favourite songs: Paper Wings.
  5. Just Like You – Three Days Grace: This song is significant because it was the first one I ever learned to play on drums, another important step for my life.
  6. Stay Together For the Kids – Blink 182: Travis Barker’s drumming influenced me in a big way. I would watch his videos and try and match his style the best I could. This song was one of the ones my first band played quite a lot.
  7. Self Conclusion – Spill Canvas: My friend Shannon told me about the Spill Canvas in 9th grade, and this brought me into the ’emo’ genre. This song still blows me away.
  8. No Transitory – Alexisonfire: I originally hated Alexisonfire with their single “Accidents” but this song changed that forever.
  9. In The Water, I am Beautiful – City and Colour: From Alexisonfire I fell in love with Dallas Green, and thus I found City and Colour.
  10. Banana Pancakes – Jack Johnson: My girlfriend is gonna hate me for this one, but Jack Johnson’s guitar rifts inspired me to pick up one and try writing my own.
  11. Children’s March – Percy Grainger: I played timpani in this song for the Wind Ensemble when I was in grade 10. This was a big deal for me because I was new to percussion, and it may have kept me in band for all 3 years.
  12. Dizzy Fingers – Zez Confrey: I played this piece as a marimba concerto for our high school band showcase in 12th grade. It was an important part of me taking music in university.
  13. You and Me – Lifehouse: Like most people, this song played at my grad, it was also a definition of my last summer in Calgary.
  14. Happiness by the Kilowatt – City and Colour: This remains one of my favourite songs to this day, and it is a huge part of my life.
  15. Milk Thistle – Conor Oberst: There is one line from this song that I will always remember. It’s will always remind me of my first year of university and a very special person to me.

What’s in your soundtrack? Why is it there? Leave a comment, let me know!

2 comments

  1. brasskeys

    …like a little baby at the bottom of a well.

    I forgive you for the Jack Johnson comment as long as I am more inspirational than him. I think if I made a list of the ‘Top 10 Bands People Hate Me For Hating” he would definitely be in my top 3.

    • JCS

      That’s the line! You remembered!

      I’d definitely like to see your list. It’d probably be a lot of bands that I like.

Leave a Reply

