Internet Infamy


Salutations Internet,

I hope you’re having a good Tuesday and that all is right in your world.

Just an update for you, my computer is still in limbo, I was informed yesterday that when buying electronics with Mastercard or Visa, they will automatically double your warranty! So technically my computer is still under warranty and thus can be repaired for free! This is good news. Now we just have to wait for the paperwork to go through and then the repairs can begin. In the meantime, I am still relying on my girlfriend and computer labs to get my internet fix.

I was talking to my brother last night about YouTube and stupid videos and people gaining fame. I showed him a few videos of people from YouTube that I know about, sxephil (http://www.youtube.com/user/sxephil) and Boxxy (http://www.youtube.com/user/boxxybabee) and Fred Figglehornhttp://www.youtube.com/user/fred?blend=1&ob=4). The last two are teenage kids who have become famous for making videos on YouTube. “Fred” has to be about 14 or 15, pretending to be a 6 year old kid, is the most subscribed all time, most viewed all time (comedians) and even appeared and won a Teen Choice Award. I never really understood this guy’s appeal, but I will give him credit for his determination. He’s got t-shirts and hats and has bascially become a phenom in the internet world. And all this for just acting stupid and then speeding it up on a movie editor. Sigh. I don’t understand why people love this stuff. It has no substance to it and adds nothing to your life. If your attention span has dwindled down to that of a 15 year old screaming at a camera for 3 minutes about his imaginary friends, then I think it’s time you changed your lifestyle a little.

It makes me wonder about my own internet infamy. I’ve got a blog and I write about nothing of any importance to anyone, and yet I’m happy when I’m over 200 total views. Everyone is wanting the world to look upon them and show themselves off. I know that I am dropping my URL to all my friends and being like, “Hey, check out my blog.” Some of them I sincerely want to read what I post here, because I don’t get to talk to them often and they have a way to know what’s going on in my life, but others, I just want to click and bump up my view count. And why? I don’t really know, I don’t think I’m going to become any international success with my great blogs about nothing. The time for that has past. Maybe if I had started a blog in 1999, when I was nine and still playing Pokemon and stuff, then my blog may have been successful, but jumping on the bandwagon now means no success will come of this.

And why is it that we’re always looking for success from everything we do? I should just be happy if the 10 people that read this whenever I update it actually enjoy it. And I hope that you do enjoy it! I’ve seen this picture before, and I think it’s a really good representation of what the internet, and thus blogging has become. I’ve never been a fan of twitter or tumblr or whatever, I feel like that’s just a quick way to get your two cents out and for everyone to see, “Oh hey look, So-and-so is doing this. I don’t care.” I appreciate blogs because it means the author and subsequentially the reader have to take time to read the blog.

Also. Frick. There is some stupid girl in the lab who is on ICQ, (an instant messenger for those of you who don’t know) and the stupid little “Uh-oh” sound that goes off anytime she gets a message is really friggen annoying. I just want to go over there and hit the stupid mute button on her keyboard. There it is again. Frick.

Anyways, sorry for the tangent. I find this really weird this whole blogging thing I’ve started. I found myself lying in bed last night, thinking of things to write in my blog tomorrow. Great amazing interesting antecdotes about my life that people will like. But, alas I can hardly remember any of them. (Although, Brother, what about “Engineering Ingenuity” for your blog name?)

Also! Here’s another webcomic for your enjoyment! My girlfriend and I found this a long time ago and couldn’t remember what it was called! But now we found it again. So I hope you enjoy this one as much as I do! http://eqcomics.com/ I’ve attached the first comic of the series for your viewing pleasure.

I think that’s all for today, I’ve ranted and raved enough. I hope you enjoyed. I’m off to break that stupid ICQ girls keyboard.

Later days,

– J

3 comments

  1. Brooke

    I told you about Fred millions of months ago and you didn't want to watch him. Now you're posting about him!?!?!

  2. JCS

    I knew about Fred trillions of months ago. I didn't want to watch him because I had already seen his stupidity and didn't want to subject myself to that further.

Leave a Reply

